Blessed Summertime

Stand still and consider the wondrous works of God.
– Job 37:14

I’ve really begun to understand the value of being a teacher: free summer! Of course, I still have plenty of things to do. The difference is that I’m not getting up at 5 a.m. with an inordinate amount of papers to grade and lessons to plan. In fact, I’ve been getting up at 8 a.m., or later, every morning. I’ve been casually reading through books, trying out new recipes, and bonding with Millie. I truly believe that everyone needs a time of repose, no matter what one’s position is in life. There’s NO WAY I could have kept going full-speed ahead without knowing that summertime was on the horizon. Everyone has a myriad of excuses for always staying busy, but there is no reason to ever feel guilty about allowing life to slow down and enjoy the simple pleasures that God has given His creation. In the midst of this relaxing, I’ve captured a few snapshots of our life this summer. Enjoy!

Josh turned 24!

We took a trip to Chicago and enjoyed a bike tour through the city.

Millie has acclimated quite well to her new life. We can't imagine life without her now!

Josh's brother and sister visited us for the weekend. A fun time was had by all.

Millie put on her festive Independence Day collar. she's such a smart dog.

Our delicious, high-calorie, July 4th desserts!

We went to a concert and fireworks in the park for a romantic July 4th date.

2 comments

  1. How fun! Thanks for sharing the pictures. Ben just turned 24 on July 3rd! We are having a wonderful summer as well. Even though I’m nannying this summer, it’s been a great change of pace from the hectic teaching schedule (not to mention–NO PAPERWORK!!! :).

    I’m so happy to see you both are doing well. I have learned more in my first year of marriage than I’d have ever dreamed. Praise God for His faithful forgiveness and abundant grace!

  2. Thanks for the comment, Candice! I know what you mean about marriage. I don’t think the learning ever stops! And, yes, if teaching didn’t have paperwork, then it would definitely be the perfect job 🙂

Leave a Reply

