Summer Reading

Whenever I hear people say “I hate to read,” I think it must be pretty sad to live in such a state of ignorance. They have no idea what they’re missing, and, unfortunately, they’ve probably been too overstimulated by our culture to understand this simple pleasure of life. I’m not advocating for three hours of daily reading, but just thirty minutes of pleasure reading greatly enhances one’s intellect and ability to understand another person’s world. I recently heard the statistic: If the average person reads one book a week for forty years, he will have read approximately 2,000 books in his lifetime. If you’re a perfectionist like myself, try not misconstrue the point of this statistic by always trying to choose the perfect book. Instead, go out and get started! You may even surprise yourself and get to the point where you can easily read 2-4 books in a week…seriously!

Now that I’ve given my spiel on reading, I’ll be the first to share some books that I’ve read this summer. I must admit that I do have a definite advantage: reading is part of my job. In addition, I am often reading books with a critical eye, much like a movie critic. There are some books on my list that I wouldn’t necessarily recommend for pleasure reading, simply because they are not worth the time if you can only read 2,000 books in a lifetime. If you happen to be reading a good book, please leave a comment. I would love to hear!

My list this summer:

  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  • The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
  • A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • Anthem by Ayn Rand
  • Feminine Appeal: Seven Virtues of a Wife and Mother by Carolyn Mahaney (currently reading)
  • Total Truth by Nancy Pearcey (currently reading)
2 comments

  1. The two most helpful books I’ve read since I’ve been married are “Shopping for Time” by Carolyn Mahaney and “The Hidden Art of Homemaking” by Edith Schaeffer. Even if you have to buy these to read them, they are totally worth it! (the great thing about amazon is that you can buy used ones for cheaper) As far as fiction goes, I’ve really enjoyed the Circle Series by Ted Dekker this summer.

    1. Thanks so much for the recommendations! I’m going to order Shopping for Time because I am feeling really stretched this year.

Leave a Reply

