Forced Relaxation (plus, a Millie appearance!)

Last week I was out of school Tuesday-Friday due to the ice storm here in Indiana. It was convenient timing because I had some sort of virus. Suffice it to say that I truly relaxed last week. There’s nothing like freezing cold weather and runny nose that make me just want to sit on the couch and be lazy. All in all, I assumed a lackadaisical attitude for two full days. These days were spent immersing myself in Jane Austen–I watched Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility, reading The Chronicles of Narnia, playing with Millie, and doing some online shopping. After getting all that dawdling out of my system, I did do some house chores, tweaked my resume, looked for housing on craigslist.com, and graded a few stacks of papers. How wonderful it was to get around to doing these things! Nevertheless, by the time Friday came around, I was experiencing some serious cabin fever. Thankfully, our church was hosting a missions dinner, and I was able to get some exposure to the real world for a few hours. Yesterday, we finally went back to school, but we’re off again today. More forced relaxation is coming my way!

By the way, it occurred to me that I never followed up on Millie’s paper-fetching skills, which I wrote about in a previous post. Since Millie and I had a little extra time on our hands (and paws) this morning, I filmed her getting the paper in the snow. She has by now perfected her paper-fetching skills; however, that blasted snow sometimes throws off her game (i.e., the digging and random pee break). She’s still as precious as ever.

One comment

  1. Enjoyed seeing Millie and hearing your voice! Millie seems to be an ideal dog!

Leave a Reply

