Almost 39 Weeks

38 weeks, 4 days

In just ten days, this baby should arrive–I hope. Until now, I never understood the whole agony of going beyond one’s due date. I always figured if one could be pregnant for 40 weeks, what is another few days? Well, I understand now. At this point, I’m really uncomfortable, and these last few days seem to drag on. Even more than my comfort level, I’m a girl who likes to plan. My sub plans are detailed, and I have everything set up so that the new teacher can walk in my classroom and seamlessly begin new units with all my classes. If Junior doesn’t come by his due date (2/1), I will stop working for the sole reason that I don’t want to give up THE plan and lose instructional days with my students, not because I want to sit at home and continue “nesting.” My current hope and prayer is that Junior comes on the 27th because Josh has time off medical school for the next three days. I guess we shall see!

Furthermore, in order to help get my body ready for the momentous event, I’ve done a little research on labor-inducing recipes. To my delight, I found some very tasty-looking recipes: lemon cupcakes, eggplant parmesan, and even a prego pizza. I certainly realize that there is little evidence testifying to the effectiveness of these recipes, but, hey, at least it gives me an excuse to bake some goodies.

Foremost on this list was a labor-inducing chocolate cake, which I modified into cupcakes. Labor-inducing or not, I will definitely be making this recipe again; these were some of the most moist, chocolatey cupcakes I’ve ever had. And, boy, did they satisfy this ridiculous muffin/cupcake craving I’ve been having. The only downside: they’re irresistible. Both Josh and I have had three today!

In other news, we’re still trying to transition Millie…

“Dad, do you mean to tell me that all this isn’t for me?!”

3 comments

  1. I love this photo of you and Josh. You are a very beautiful mother-to-be! Millie is just too cute – what would you and Josh do without her?

  2. I am praying for the 27th! It blows my mind that he is going to be here so soon! I cannot wait to get the news. The pic of you and Josh is a great one, and before long, it will be a pic with Junior in your arms standing in his new room! The pic of Josh and Millie is seriously making me laugh!!! It is really like she is your child, and she is taking on the role of the only child getting ready to become a big sister. Love it!

  3. […] (1) Peppermint bark popcorn, labor-inducing chocolate cupcakes ( discovered this one when I was trying to go into labor, but it was really good, so it stuck!), summer roasted vegetables, whole-wheat muffins, the perfect […]

Leave a Reply

