Fifteen First-Month Lessons

Happy 1 Month Birthday to My Baby!

Caleb turned one month old this past Wednesday, and the common saying that “They’ll teach you more than you teach them” has certainly proven true for me at this point. So to commemorate this milestone, I’ve made a list of some mini-lessons, ranging from the serious to the insignificant.

  1. Contractions were a lot more painful than I imagined. Sorry if this discourages anyone! Perhaps I will credit my surprise to the fact that I went into labor with very little sleep, which makes any challenge seem over-exaggerated.
  2. Don’t bring a mere panty liner to the hospital for postpartum recovery, and certainly don’t show it to your mother lest she laugh at you during your moment of sad realization.
  3. Keep visible reminders at hand of how important this baby is. While enduring endless bouts of screaming and fussiness, it makes a world of difference to keep this truth in mind: This child is an amazing gift from God. I have a wonderful journal that does this so effectively.
  4. It’s not necessary to play lullabies all the time. They put me to sleep and often make me a little too weepy with their sentimental lyrics.
  5. Josh and I have come to love infant gowns for nighttime changing, especially the kind with zippers (even easier!).
  6. Don’t use Ebay to save money on baby items. I still have some faith in Craigslist, but I am SO over Ebay. As you might have guessed, there’s a long story here.
  7. A+D diaper rash cream is way better than Desitin.
  8. Maybe I can’t teach Bible verses or catechisms to Caleb at such a young age, but I can teach him patience and love.
  9. Always put a bib on the baby during feeding time. Then, surround him with a towel or very large burping cloth. Espeially if your baby has refulx.
  10. Have a camera within arm’s length at all times. I may look like a doting mother, but I won’t care a few years later when I see that sweet captured moment.
  11. Seize upon every opportunity to get household duties done. I never realized five minutes could be so precious.
  12. I also never realized how much I valued time for myself until I had Caleb. At first it frustrated me that I couldn’t just sit down and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee without it getting cold–petty, I know. Now I’ve accepted that those “me times” should not be an expectation, but rather a pleasant surprise if I happen upon them.
  13. Gas drops are wonderful. If only I had known this sooner…
  14. Get out as much as possible. Just going through the Chick-fil-a drive-thru with Caleb and Millie is enough to make me feel like I’ve accomplished something for the day.
  15. Remember that my spouse is on the same team as me. When in survival mode, I’m tempted to lash out at the person who is the very closest to me, and I forget that we’re both heading in the same direction. Thankfully, we have a God who gives us the grace we need to be gracious to each other.
3 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing.. gives me a little insight of what to expect in the near future.

  2. Sarah, I love this. It is so sweet and I love the picture of Caleb. He is so cute and precious.

  3. Megan Connor · · Reply

    This is very helpful! Although not hearing that contractions were worse than you expected 🙂 It is so hard to know what it will be like if you have never been through it! This is great info, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

