Mother’s Day and an Update!

Much has happened since I last blogged, but, between end-of-school chaos, spending time with Caleb, and keeping up the house; I can’t find more than ten minutes to sit down and write lately. I’m certain this will get better though; the month of May has always been hectic. And, since I’m still pinched for time, this post will be nothing more than bulleted list of recent happenings. 

  1. The first week back to work was a lot less stressful than I thought it would be. Much thanks can be given to my mom, who stayed with me for the first two weeks. Also, I was worried about pumping and keeping up milk supply, but that worked out great. And, with the exception of one class, I have a wonderful group of students this year, so that helped significantly.
  2. The second week consisted of a terrible cold virus, a computer crash, and a car wreck. It was pretty much terrible, but God was faithful and brought me through this week with no injuries. And, thankfully, we were able to restore the files on our computer (namely, Caleb and wedding pictures).

    Farewell to the faithful Taurus. It’s served Josh well since college

  3. My principal offered me the position of teaching every-other-day next year, and (unless something radically changes), I’m doing it. It’s Josh’s last year of medical school, so it will help to have some income, but I will be at home with my baby most of the time 🙂
  4. Caleb has reached several milestones. At 3 months (as of May 8th), he measured 25.5” and almost 16 lbs. He’s rolling over, doing tummy time (which he used to HATE), in size 3-6 month clothing, and starting to teeth. My little newborn has grown up! Although I mourn those days when he was so tiny and easy to pick up, I am really enjoying the 3 month age. He’s quite interactive and rarely fussy!

    Happy 3-month-old!

    He just loves to furrow his little brow

  5. Yesterday marked  2 years since we adopted Millie. Most parents take their children back to visit the hospital they were born in. Well, we took Millie to visit the shelter yesterday. It will always amaze me that a shy, little shelter dog is now a well-adjusted, rambunctious member of our pack. She’s been my steadfast friend through many lonely nights as a med student’s wife, and I couldn’t imagine life without her.

    Millie and Mom outside the no-kill shelter where she was adopted

  6. Today’s my first Mother’s Day, and I feel so blessed to be Caleb’s mommy. It still doesn’t seem real that I am the recipient of this day now. And, with each passing Mother’s Day, I realize just how much my mom sacrificed for me. The world would be a much better place if everyone had a mom like my mom.

    Me and Caleb on Mother’s Day–this kid LOVES to cuddle

And I love to give him tons of kisses!

Did I mention we LOVE to cuddle?

Well, my little boy is stirring from his mid-morning nap. I’ve posted an inane little video to capture his 3-month-self below. Trust me–I know this is only the kind of video a mother could love, but it’s here for documentary purposes. Now to cuddle!

One comment

  1. I can already tell this kid is super smart! What 3 month old hears their mom trying to get them to roll over and actually tries to do it?! Those Mother’s Day photos are priceless. You are such a beautiful mom, and Caleb is so blessed to have you and Josh as parents. Glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day, and I agree that the world would be a much better place if everyone had a mom like yours…and mine. We are very blessed. Love the furrowed brow photo of Caleb as always. Happy adoption day to Millie. Hope she enjoyed her trip to the shelter;) xoxo

Leave a Reply

