Favorites of 2012

Instead of deep reflections and thoughtful resolutions (although I do greatly enjoy that practice), I feel it’s time to opt for a more carefree, cursory rumination of this past year. Although eerily similar to the 90s’ get-to-know-you emails, I present to you a list of my favorite things this past year. Quick note: I took liberties with the word “favorite” by giving more than one answer in some categories.

  • Moment: Finally holding my newborn son in my arms.

    February 8, 2012. One of the happiest days of my life.

    February 8, 2012. One of the happiest days of my life.

  • Song: “10,000 Reasons” and “One Thing Remains.” It makes my morning when I hear one of these two songs on the way to work.
  • Movie: Thanks to the influence of my nerdy (yet still very sexy) husband, I would still choose the classic quests found in Lord of the Rings and Star Wars . Really, all things epic.
  • TV Show: Downton AbbeyWhile waiting for Caleb to make his appearance, my parents and I bided our time by watching all of seasons 1 and 2 of this extremely, well-written, historical, high fashion BBC series. I highly recommend it, especially for its spectacular acting and clever wit. I have a special appreciation for the character of Lady Grantham.
  • Book: The Mark of the Lion Series by Francine Rivers. I haven’t read the third novel yet (mostly because it sucks me in, and I can’t move forward with life until I reach a conclusion), but the first two are some of my all-time favorite books. In short, this is set in first century Rome, Ephesus, and Jerusalem; and it follows the life of a gladiator, Jewish slave, and aristocratic Roman family. I read both books in a matter of weeks, and my heart was particularly blessed by the inner struggle and success of the main character to develop a relationship and bold witness for Jesus Christ.
  • Recipes: I consider a recipe to be successful if I make it again. Within the course of our marriage, Josh has asked why I haven’t repeated certain dishes that were pretty tasty. In short, it must take fewer than 30 minutes to make (not bake), and it cannot cost more than $10 dollars to buy all the ingredients. So, the following recipes have been winners for us this year: (1) Peppermint bark popcorn, labor-inducing chocolate cupcakes ( discovered this one when I was trying to go into labor, but it was really good, so it stuck!), summer roasted vegetables, whole-wheat muffins, the perfect veggie burger (which is worthy of its own post), and vegetarian chili (which is one of the few all-vegetable items that Josh loves!).
  • Vacation: This one is pretty easy since we only took one vacation (to Savannah, GA), but it was great. Caleb was at that delightfully easy age of five months where he was developing a humorous personality, but not yet super mobile. So, he did pretty well in the car, and Josh and I enjoyed some much-needed together time.

    While we vacationed, Caleb started to loudly cackle. I just loved seeing his little personality come through.

    While we vacationed, Caleb started cackling loudly. I just loved seeing his little personality come through.

  • Verse: I Corinthians 16:13-14
  • Restaurant: Much like our vacation category, this one is pretty easy since we rarely go out to eat. Nevertheless, this award would go to Houlihan’s due to the fact that it’s just ten minutes away, has a variety of menu items, has special BOGO offers, and has superb service.
  • Acquisition: When I started thinking about products (especially all things baby related), I realized I couldn’t pick just one favorite product, so another post was conceived, and it hopes to debut before February. However, for the sake of this post, I would defer to our most costly purchase: our van. It’s not cool. I don’t care. The spaciousness is wonderful.

    Rockin' the van in 2012

    Rockin’ the van in 2012

  • Biggest Blessings: Being able to work part-time, joining our church, getting involved in our church, and spending all summer with my baby. I’ve also got to add that we’ve been able to leave Millie out of her crate while we go to work, and she hasn’t destroyed anything this year! Big deal for our sweet puppy.

    A free and happy Millie!

    A free and happy Millie!

  • Lesson learned: Don’t judge. Since having a baby, I see that I judged a lot more than I realized. Driving a van? Breastfeeding in public? Quieting my child with my digital device? I now check “yes” to all three.
Looking back I’d say it’s been a pretty exciting year. I hope you’ve had several favorites of 2012 as well. Have a Happy New Year! May God bless you in 2013.
One comment

  1. You still look cool in your van. I cannot wait till the February post. Leave nothing out. You should also do a recipe post. I’ll be waiting. Get to it. Lol

Leave a Reply

