Celebrating 1 Year!

With Josh overseas for six weeks, I’ve been playing the part of single, working mom. As much as I want to make an elaborate 1-yr video and write a reflective piece about Caleb’s first year of life, it’s going to have to wait. We are in survival mode over here, but God is being so good, and we ARE surviving! We are certainly ready for Daddy to come back, though. If this experience has taught me anything, it is this (1) I should daily give thanks for a loving, committed husband in my life, and (2) I should be seeking opportunities to minister to single parents–it is a tough job, and I can’t imagine being successful and sane without a parenting partner.

So, as a brief commemoration of our little miracle’s first year, I present a quick picture survey of Caleb’s first year (thanks to Pixlr.com‘s collage program). I can’t believe I actually followed through with the sticky tie cut-outs from Etsy, but looking back, I’m glad I did. Full disclosure: they were a little difficult after 7 months (due to Caleb crawling), but we still managed to get a picture. Also, with the help of my family, I managed to pull off a first birthday party for him in NC on his birthday (see pics below). He, as you can tell, had a blast and consequently slept very well that evening. And, currently at 12 months, he appears to weigh 25 lbs, be 31″ long, and have ten teeth (one is a back molar!). He is also quite the cut-up, and he loves to laugh and play games; he now prefers walking over crawling. Chicken is his favorite food (even though I’m trying hard with the veggies!). And, cuddling is becoming more of a rarity, which makes me thankful that I constantly held him as a baby (yes, I was one of THOSE mothers).

From Day 1 to Month 12, we have had a blast.

We had a great time celebrating Caleb's birthday in North Carolina this year. I loved the little whale theme; it was so cute!

We had a great time celebrating Caleb’s birthday in North Carolina this year. I loved the little whale theme; it was so cute!

2 comments

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the collage of his first year. That is so awesome, and I can’t wait to do that. I wish I would have been “one of those mothers” because it does go by way too fast, and then they just want to be all over the place. I also cannot imagine being single. Doing the parenting thing without Jason would be a disaster. Thank the Lord we are blessed with good men. Praying the time goes by quickly and smoothly until Josh returns. Hope Caleb stays well these next couple of weeks.

  2. You are so sweet, Miranda! I can’t wait to see your little one soon! Are you going to do ties? chalkboard? other?

Leave a Reply

