A Tasty Treat for Baby #1 (and a Baby #2 Update!)

My 17-month-old is a picky eater. I’m totally blaming this on my husband since my mother (who has such a wonderful memory of me, bless her heart) says I loved everything as a baby. So, to keep things healthy for my toddler,  I’ve inserted a much-loved fruit smoothie that usually includes spinach, kale, and/or avocado into his daily routine. He literally comes running when he hears the blender going and starts pointing at the smoothie, saying “meh, meh” (me, me). I’m so thankful he loves his smoothie. Otherwise, his diet would be mostly white or yellow foods.

Another step to a healthier diet came a few days ago. I don’t like to encourage a lot of snacking, but it’s nice to have something available when Caleb needs a little pick-me-up to get him between meal times. He really enjoys goldfish and in spite of my best efforts, he has tasted (and loves) cookie snacks like teddy grahams. My biggest issue with these snacks is that they are processed with artificial ingredients. So, to keep things fresher and a bit healthier, I decided to find a good alternative that I could make at home. I knew that my alternative could not be totally sugar free, so I looked for a compromise, and here’s what I’ve finally landed on as the winner: Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies.

Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies: My recent indulgence during Caleb's nap.

Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies: My recent indulgence during Caleb’s nap.

These cookies were a hit for the entire family–dog included! I made them first as the recipe stated, but I have since made them with half the sugar, and also added raisins. The hubby said this sugar decrease puts them in granola bar category, which is still just as tasty to us.

This kid loves his new snack.

Enjoying his new snack.

And, quick update on our baby girl: She’s currently almost 27 weeks gestation, and she moves constantly. She wakes me up at night because of her intense thumping, and just yesterday I was rocking an under-the-weather Caleb, and she kicked him so much that she woke him up! Also, this pregnancy has gone more smoothly than the first one. I have yet to experience any hives, and I’ve had a lot less nausea. The back pain, however, is a lot worse, but can probably be equally attributed to carrying around a 30-pound toddler.

At 25 weeks--I'm having a hard time keeping up with the pregnancy pictures this time around. This is due to the fact that (1) I feel larger with #2, and (2) I'm usually in a tank and shorts these rainy summer days.

Last week at 25 weeks–I’m having a hard time keeping up with the pregnancy pictures this time around: (1) I feel larger with #2, (2) I’m usually in a tank and shorts these rainy summer days, and (3) the time goes so quickly with another munchkin running around!

One comment

  1. My first comment-you feel larger??? Oh, honey. You are a nutcase. That picture is gorgeous. Love your outfit, hair, makeup, and your miniature bump at 25 weeks. You are a beautiful momma!

    Second, those cookies sound really good. Will have to try those out!

    Glad baby girl and big boy Caleb are both doing well!

Leave a Reply

