39 Weeks

Just minutes before this picture we walked in the door from church, and I was actually dressed up with my hair fixed. THEN I remembered to take a picture. Oh well, this is much more realistic :)

Just minutes before this picture we walked in the door from church, and I was dressed up with my hair fixed (definitely no more horizontal stripes in public!). THEN I remembered to take a picture. Oh well, this is much more realistic 🙂

So, I’m cheating just a bit. I’m actually 38 weeks and 6 days, but rounding up is necessary at this stage, right?!

This week I received a huge blessing and answer to prayer: My hard-working, exhausted husband was given a week-long vacation since his attending doctor was also on vacation. That meant he got to spend all week us! With Josh’s help, I’m now feeling much better about the state of affairs.

First, Caleb needed daddy time. He needed someone to chase him around the house, put him on his shoulders, and wrestle around with him. After a week of daddy time, though, I’m pretty sure mommy now ranks second 🙂

Second, I needed a babysitter for Caleb so I could stock the freezer with pre-made meals, pack the suitcases, prepare the baby’s bed/clothes/room, get the house in order, finalize some shopping runs, prop up my feet (they are SO swollen with this pregnancy), and catch up on rest. And, after many (at least seven) ear infections, Caleb had ear tubes put in this week. I certainly could have taken him alone, but it was great to have an extra set of hands (and feet, in my case).

Last, we were able to get in some much-needed couple time. God knew exactly when our family needed rest, and He so graciously provided. Before this week, I was in no way ready for the baby, but I’m now able to breathe and say “whatever and whenever” about baby’s arrival. And, that’s a wonderful place to be.

2 comments

  1. So happy you got this last week with Josh. It does make a huge difference to just have 30 minutes to yourself, and I’m glad you were given that and more just in time. No worse feeling than thinking you have a million things to get done before the baby gets here and no time to do it. Glad you feel better and are now ready to welcome baby girl! We are too, and I so wish I could be there! I can’t wait to see Caleb’s reaction. You are looking so beautiful too. Even with your hair thrown up, it still looks perfect! Loving your mantle too. You’ve turned into quite the decorator. Excellent job!

  2. Still not as crafty as you, though. I’ll say it again, but I wish we lived closer so we could do some projects together and amid the chaos! 🙂

Leave a comment